Women in Congress: Leadership Roles and Committee Chairs

115th Congress 2017-2019

U.S. Senate

 Leadership Roles  
  Sen. Patty Murray (D-MA) Assistant Democratic Leader
  Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) Chair, Democratic Policy and Communications Committee
  Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) Vice Chair, Democratic Conference
  Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) Chair, Democratic Steering Committee
  Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) Democratic Conference Secretary
Committee Chairs  
  Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) Chair, Energy and Natural Resources Committee
  Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME) Chair, Special Committee on Aging

U. S. House of Representatives

Leadership Roles  
  Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA) Chair, Republican Conference
  Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) House Democratic Leader
  Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA) Chair, Democratic Organization, Study and Review Committee
  Rep. Linda Sanchez (D-CA) Vice Chair, Democratic Caucus
  Rep. Dianna DeGette (D-CA) Democratic Chief Deputy Whip
  Rep. Janice Schakowsky (D-IL) Democratic Chief Deputy Whip
  Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL) Democratic Chief Deputy Whip
  Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ) Democratic Chief Deputy Whip
  Rep. Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (D-FL) Democratic Chief Deputy Whip
  Rep. Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI) House Democratic Freshman Representative
  Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) Co-Chair, Democratic Steering and Policy Committee
  Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-IL) Co-Chair, Policy and Communications Committee
  Rep. Mimi Walters (R-CA) House Republican Sophomore Representative
Committee Chairs  
  Rep. Diane Black (R-TN) Chair, House Budget Committee (served Feb. 2017-Jan. 2018)
  Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC) Chair, Education and the Workforce Committee
Previous Congresses