Rutgers Logo Rutgers University
Center for American Women and Politics
Eagleton Institute of Politics
Donate Now
callout box top
CAWP Election Watch

Women candidates and their campaigns: the latest info, trends and historical context.

arrowStay Informed

callout box bottom

Education and Training

CAWP Leadership Awards for Douglass Residential College Students

The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, recognizes the accomplishments and leadership potential of students from Douglass Residential College with three annual awards. Each award winner receives a cash prize and a certificate.
      Online nomination form available here
      (Application deadline Monday, March 2, 2015.)

Nancy Becker Award for Public Leadership - $150

Nancy Becker

The Nancy H. Becker Award for Public Leadership honors a highly-respected public interest advocate who heads her own successful Trenton lobbying firm. Her friends and admirers established the award to recognize her long history of community service and dedication to a well-informed leadership and citizenry. This award is presented to a student from Douglass Residential College who is affiliated with the Public Leadership Education Network (PLEN) and who has demonstrated, through her activities on campus or in the community, an interest in politics and government as well as a strong leadership potential.
   List of previous award winners.

Barbara Boggs Sigmund Award - $250

Barbara Boggs Sigmund

The Barbara Boggs Sigmund Award is presented annually in memory of the late mayor of Princeton Borough, who was one of New Jersey's best-known political women and a member of the CAWP staff.  This award is given in honor of the inspiring example Barbara Sigmund set as a public leader. It goes to a graduating senior from Douglass Residential College who is herself a promising public leader and who exemplifies the kind of leadership which allowed Barbara Sigmund to make a difference for the people of New Jersey and for women in particular.
   List of previous award winners.