NEW LeadershipNew Jersey was established to help college women develop their leadership skills and encourage them to  become more involved in the political process. The program brings together a diverse group of women from across the state to discuss the roles of women in leadership and politics, meet successful women leaders, and develop their leadership skills.

Each year, about 35 women from colleges and universities across New Jersey are selected to attend. 

2016 application online available here or
download here
(.pdf).

NEW Leadership™ New Jersey
June 9-14, 2016
Eagleton Institute of Politics
New Brunswick, NJ

For more information contact:
Sasha Patterson, NEW Leadership™ Program Manager 
848-932-8809

 

Discover your leadership potential at
NEW Leadership™ New Jersey
NEW Leadership NJ students
"I left NEW Leadership with a greater feeling of confidence in my own ability to lead and to create change.“

NEWL NJ slider


Who Should Apply to NEW Leadership™ New Jersey?


NEW Leadership™ New Jersey is open to undergraduate students enrolled in any New Jersey college or university and New Jersey residents enrolled in out-of-state schools for the 2015-2016 academic year. 

CAWP is committed to including women from diverse socioeconomic, ethnic, racial and educational backgrounds in each NEW Leadership™ class. We strongly encourage women of color, non-traditional college women, and students with a wide range of majors to apply.

At NEW Leadership you will
• DISCOVER
your own leadership potential

• LEARN about the political process and how policy decisions are made

• BECOME an effective advocate for the issues you care about

• MEET successful women leaders

• BUILD valuable networks with peers and mentors
 

"Not only did I gain leadership skills, I left the
program with a strong network of future leaders."
Cost

NEW Leadership™ is supported by donations from corporate sponsors and individuals that cover some of the program costs. Each participating college and university is asked to pay a $500 program fee per student. There is no direct cost to the students. Housing, food, and all program materials for the full six days of the program are provided.

Applicants are required to provide contact information for a faculty or staff member at their school who agrees  to assist them in obtaining funding for the NEW Leadership™ program fee. A limited number of scholarships will be available to students who are unable to obtain sponsorship from their schools.

Check the list of participating schools tab above for contacts who have agreed to help students find funding.

 

NEW Leadership FAQ's


Who is eligible to apply?

NEW Leadership™ New Jersey is open to undergraduate students enrolled in any New Jersey college or university and New Jersey residents enrolled in out-of-state schools. We strongly encourage women of color and nontraditional college women to apply. Each NEW Leadership™ class includes women from diverse socioeconomic, ethnic, racial and educational backgrounds.

What qualifications do you look for in successful applicants?

Demonstrated leadership experience in your campus or community and a commitment to expanding knowledge about politics and civic engagement are primary considerations.  We look for participants with diverse backgrounds and experiences who will contribute to the knowledge of the group by offering different perspectives.

Does it matter what my major is?

No, past participants have represented a wide range of majors including; music, biology, business, social work, education, criminal justice, women and gender studies, and political science. There is no specific academic profile for the successful NEW Leadership™ participant.

Where does the program take place?

Most of the program sessions are held at the Eagleton Institute of Politics on the New Brunswick campus of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.  The program also includes a day trip to the state capital, Trenton.

Can I leave the program for work or class during NEW Leadership?

NEW Leadership™ New Jersey is a full-time residential program, and participants are required to participate in all sessions and reside on the Rutgers campus for the entire program.  You must be in attendance from Thursday morning through Tuesday evening.

Do I have to stay in NEW Leadership™ housing, even if I live close to campus?

Yes. All NEW Leadership™ participants are required to reside on campus for the entire program. The residential requirement is crucial to sustaining the program focus and helps develop strong bonds among the participants.

How much does it cost?

There is no direct cost to students. Participating schools agree to pay a $500 program fee for each student attending NEW Leadership™. A limited number of scholarships are available for students who are unable to obtain funding from their schools.

Who should I contact at my school?

Check the list of participating schools tab above for contacts who have agreed to help students find funding for the $500 program fee.


NEW Leadership™ New Jersey was held June 4-9, 2015


Students from over 18 New Jersey colleges and universities were selected to attend.
State Senator Diane Allen in Trenton with the NEW Leadership New Jersey class of 2015
Michelle Grushko from Monmouth University, with Representative Grace Meng
Highlights of NEW Leadership NJ 2015 included:
  • Keynote talk by Representative Grace Meng
     
  • Trip to the State House in Trenton
     
  • Talk by Senator Diane Allen

 


NJ Participating Schools Contact Information


Atlantic Cape Community College
Lisa Givens    
Manager, Student Activities
lgivens@atlantic.edu    

Bergen Community College    
Gregory  Fenkart     
Coordinator Student Development
gfenkart@bergen.edu

Bloomfield College
Jennifer Troxell        
Director, Center for Student Leadership        
Jennifer_Troxell@bloomfield.edu

Brookdale Community College    
Jill Donovan    
Assistant Director, Student Life & Activities
jdonovan@brookdalecc.edu
    
Burlington County College
N/A

Camden County College
N/A

College of Saint Elizabeth
Dawn O'leary Singerline    
Director of Leadership Development
dosingerline@cse.edu

County College of Morris
Bette Simmons    
Vice President of Student Development    
bsimmons@ccm.edu

Cumberland County College
Kellie Slade
Senior Director, Student Life & Athletics
kslade@cccnj.edu

Drew University    
Debra Liebowitz    
Dean of Faculty Development
dliebowi@drew.edu

Essex County College
N/A

Fairleigh Dickinson University
Michelle McCroy Heins        
Dean of Students    
michelle_mccroy@fdu.edu

Georgian Court University
Karissa Merkel
Assistant Director of Student Leadership & Engagement    
kmerkel@georgian.edu

Hudson County Community College
Colleen Dallavalle    
Assistant Director of Student Activities    
cdallavalle@hccc.edu

Kean University    
Dr. Emily Filardo    
Director, Women's Studies Program
efilardo@kean.edu

Mercer County College
Dianne Campbell
Executive Dean of Student Affairs
campbeld@mccc.edu

Middlesex County College
Marla Brinson    
Dean of Student Affairs    
Mbrinson@niddlesexcc.edu

Monmouth University    
Amy Bellina    
Director, Student Activities
abellina@monmouth.edu

Montclair State University
 

New Jersey City University
Dr. Louise Stanton
Chair, Department of Political Science
lstanton@njcu.edu

New Jersey Institute of Technology
Nancy Steffen-Fluhr    
Director, Murray Center for Women in Technology
steffen@njit.edu

Ocean County College    
Alison Noone    
Assistant Director of Student Life
anoone@ocean.edu

Passaic County Community College
N/A

Ramapo College of New Jersey
Erika Vega        
Student Development Specialist    
ehernan5@ramapo.edu

Raritan Valley Community College    
Russell Barefoot
Director of Student Life    
russell.barefoot@raritanval.edu

Richard Stockton College of New Jersey    
Dianne Stalling    
Assistant Director, Student Development
dianne.stalling@stockton.edu     

Rider University
Laura Seplaki
Director of Leadership Programs
lseplaki@rider.edu

Rowan University
 

Rowan College at Gloucester County
      

Rutgers University – School of Arts and Sciences
Muffin Lord    
Administrative Director, Honors Program
lord@sas.rutgers.edu

Rutgers University - Camden
Patrick Wallace    
Associate Director, Campus Center
pwallace@camden.rutgers.edu

Rutgers Newark
Nikita Pandit    
Assistant Director for Service Learning
nikita.pandit@rutgers.edu

Saint Peter's University
Jan Reimer        
Director of Student Activities    
jreimer@saintpeters.edu

Seton Hall University
 

Stevens Institute of Technology
Kristie Damell    
Assistant Dean of Students
kristie.damell@stevens.edu

Sussex County Community College
Heidi Gregg
Associate Director, Office of Student Activities
hgregg@sussex.edu

The College of New Jersey
Ann Marie Nicolosi    
Chair, Women's and Gender Studies Program
nicolosi@tcnj.edu
 
Union County College
JoAnn Davis-Wayne     
Dean of Students
Davis@ucc.edu

Warren County College
Rose Lynch    
Director of Student Activities    
lynchr@warren.edu

William Paterson University
Arlene Scala
Chair, Women's Studies Department    
scalaa@wpunj.edu