NEW Leadership™ New Jersey
June 8-12, 2017
Eagleton Institute of Politics
New Brunswick, NJ

At NEW Leadership™ students meet successful women leaders,
learn about women and politics and participate in hands-on
workshops to practice leadership skills.

Each year a diverse group of women from colleges and
universities across New Jersey are selected to attend.


Hear more about NEW Leadership™ from CAWP director Debbie Walsh.
 

Application will be available Devember, 2016.
For more information contact Sasha Patterson, NEW Leadership Program Manager
 

NEWL NJ slider


Who Should Apply to NEW Leadership™ New Jersey?


NEW Leadership™ New Jersey is open to undergraduate students enrolled in any New Jersey college or university and New Jersey residents enrolled in out-of-state schools for the 2015-2016 academic year. 

CAWP is committed to including women from diverse socioeconomic, ethnic, racial and educational backgrounds in each NEW Leadership™ class. We strongly encourage women of color, non-traditional college women, and students with a wide range of majors to apply.

At NEW Leadership you will
• DISCOVER
your own leadership potential

• LEARN about the political process and how policy decisions are made

• BECOME an effective advocate for the issues you care about

• MEET successful women leaders

• BUILD valuable networks with peers and mentors
 

"Not only did I gain leadership skills, I left the
program with a strong network of future leaders."
Cost

NEW Leadership™ is supported by donations from corporate sponsors and individuals that cover some of the program costs. Each participating college and university is asked to pay a $500 program fee per student. There is no direct cost to the students. Housing, food, and all program materials for the full six days of the program are provided.

Applicants are required to provide contact information for a faculty or staff member at their school who agrees  to assist them in obtaining funding for the NEW Leadership™ program fee. A limited number of scholarships will be available to students who are unable to obtain sponsorship from their schools.

Check the list of participating schools tab above for contacts who have agreed to help students find funding.

 

NEW Leadership FAQ's


Who is eligible to apply?

NEW Leadership™ New Jersey is open to undergraduate students enrolled in any New Jersey college or university and New Jersey residents enrolled in out-of-state schools. We strongly encourage women of color and nontraditional college women to apply. Each NEW Leadership™ class includes women from diverse socioeconomic, ethnic, racial and educational backgrounds.

What qualifications do you look for in successful applicants?

Demonstrated leadership experience in your campus or community and a commitment to expanding knowledge about politics and civic engagement are primary considerations.  We look for participants with diverse backgrounds and experiences who will contribute to the knowledge of the group by offering different perspectives.

Does it matter what my major is?

No, past participants have represented a wide range of majors including; music, biology, business, social work, education, criminal justice, women and gender studies, and political science. There is no specific academic profile for the successful NEW Leadership™ participant.

Where does the program take place?

Most of the program sessions are held at the Eagleton Institute of Politics on the New Brunswick campus of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.  The program also includes a day trip to the state capital, Trenton.

Can I leave the program for work or class during NEW Leadership?

NEW Leadership™ New Jersey is a full-time residential program, and participants are required to participate in all sessions and reside on the Rutgers campus for the entire program.  You must be in attendance from Thursday morning through Tuesday evening.

Do I have to stay in NEW Leadership™ housing, even if I live close to campus?

Yes. All NEW Leadership™ participants are required to reside on campus for the entire program. The residential requirement is crucial to sustaining the program focus and helps develop strong bonds among the participants.

How much does it cost?

There is no direct cost to students. Participating schools agree to pay a $500 program fee for each student attending NEW Leadership™. A limited number of scholarships are available for students who are unable to obtain funding from their schools.

Who should I contact at my school?

Check the list of participating schools tab above for contacts who have agreed to help students find funding for the $500 program fee.


NEW Leadership™ New Jersey was held June 9-14, 2016


Students from over 18 New Jersey colleges and universities were selected to attend.
State Senator Diane Allen in Trenton with the NEW Leadership New Jersey class of 2015
Michelle Grushko from Monmouth University, with Representative Grace Meng
Highlights of NEW Leadership NJ 2016 included:
 
  • Trip to the State House in Trenton
     
  • Talk by Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno
     
  • Public policy project on criminal justice reform

 

NJ Participating Schools Contact Information


Atlantic Cape Community College
Lisa Givens
Manager, Student Activities
lgivens@atlantic.edu

Bergen Community College
Gregory Fenkart
Coordinator Student Development
gfenkart@bergen.edu

Bloomfield College
Jennifer  Troxell
Director, Center for Student Leadership
Jennifer_Troxell@bloomfield.edu

Brookdale Community College
Jill Donovan
Assistant Director, Student Life & Activities
jdonovan@brookdalecc.edu

Camden County College
Lauren Y. Hill
Director of EOF & Student Support Services
LHill@camdencc.edu

County College of Morris
Bette Simmons 
Vice President of Student Development      

bsimmons@ccm.edu

Cumberland County College 
Kellie Slade
Senior Director, Student Life & Athletics
kslade@cccnj.edu

Drew University
Debra Liebowitz
Dean of Faculty Development
dliebowi@drew.edu

Essex County College
Dave Berry
Director, Honors Program
berry@essex.edu

Fairleigh Dickinson University
Sara Azavedo
Director of Student Life
azavedo@fdu.edu

Georgian Court University
Karissa Merkel
Assistant Director of Student Leadership & Engagement
kmerkel@georgian.edu

Hudson County Community College
Dr. Christiane Warren                   
Associate Dean Social Sciences Division
cwarren@hccc.edu

Kean University             
Dr. Emily Filardo                               
Director, Women's Studies Program
efilardo@kean.edu

Mercer County College
Dianne Campbell
Executive Dean of Student Affairs

campbeld@mccc.edu

Middlesex County College 
Marla Brinson
Dean of Student Affairs
Mbrinson@niddlesexcc.edu

Monmouth University
Lindsay Smith
Assistant Director, Student Activities
lsmith@monmouth.edu

New Jersey City University
Dr. Louise Stanton
Chair, Department of Political Science
lstanton@njcu.edu

New Jersey Institute of Technology
Nancy  Steffen-Fluhr    
Director, Murray Center for Women in Technology
steffen@njit.edu

Ocean County College
Alison Noone 
Assistant Director of Student Life
anoone@ocean.edu

Ramapo College of New Jersey
Tamika Quick,
Acting Coordinator of the Women’s Center
aquick@ramapo.edu

Raritan Valley Community College
Russell Barefoot
Director of Student Life
russell.barefoot@raritanval.edu

Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
Dianne Stalling
Assistant Director, Student Development
dianne.stalling@stockton.edu

Rider University
Laura Seplaki 
Director of Leadership Programs 
lseplaki@rider.edu

Rowan University 
Dr. Ane Johnson 
Coordinator of Women's and Gender Studies
johnsona@rowan.edu

Rutgers University – School of Arts and Sciences
Muffin Lord
Administrative Director, Honors Program 
lord@sas.rutgers.edu

Rutgers University - Camden
Patrick Wallace
Associate Director, Campus Center
pwallace@camden.rutgers.edu

Rutgers Newark
Nikita Pandit
Assistant Director for Service Learning
nikita.pandit@rutgers.edu

Saint Peter's University
Jan Reimer
Director of Student Activities
jreimer@saintpeters.edu

Sussex County Community College 
Heidi  Gregg
Associate Director, Office of Student Activities
hgregg@sussex.edu

The College of New Jersey 
Ann Marie Nicolosi
Chair, Women's and Gender Studies Program
nicolosi@tcnj.edu

William Paterson University
Arlene Scala
Chair, Women's Studies Department
scalaa@wpunj.edu