Rutgers Logo Rutgers University
Center for American Women and Politics
Eagleton Institute of Politics

Education and Training

Senator Wynona Lipman Chair in Women's Political Leadership

  • Lipman Chairholders

Senator Wynona Lipman

The Senator Wynona Lipman Chair in Women’s Political Leadership is made possible by the generous support of the New Jersey Legislature.

About the Lipman Chair

The Lipman Chair was created to honor the legacy of the late state senator, the first African American woman in the New Jersey State Senate (full biography available here). The Chair was established in 2000 when Governor Christine Todd Whitman signed legislation that had been sponsored by the legislative leaders in both parties and passed in both houses without opposition. The Legislature has generously continued its support for the Lipman Chair.

The Chair is intended to celebrate Senator Lipman, remind people of her achievements, and encourage others to follow in the footsteps of this path-breaking African American woman leader. An advisory committee, including members of Senator Lipman's family, members of the New Jersey legislature, and former members of the Senator's staff, has worked with CAWP to make the chair a success. CAWP is grateful to the Governor, the legislature, and advisory committee members for their commitment to honoring Senator Lipman's memory and advancing women's leadership.

Consistent with the Senator’s legacy, CAWP uses the generous support provided by the state legislature to:
  • inspire a broad public audience with prominent speakers whose work reflects Senator Lipman's interests and values;
  • educate college women at CAWP’s NEW Leadership New Jersey program about how and why they should become engaged in the political process and take on leadership roles;
  • train women considering running for office or working on campaigns in New Jersey at CAWP’s Ready to Run™ program and its associated diversity programs.

Whenever possible, Lipman Chair funds are directed toward participation of women from Essex County, the area represented by Senator Lipman in the legislature, in NEW Leadership™ New Jersey and Ready to Run™.
back to top ↑
Lipman Lecturers

Michel Martin Michel Martin (2015)
(bio and video here)
Donna Edwards Donna Edwards (2014)
(bio and video here)
Melody Barnes Melody C. Barnes (2013)
(bio and video here)
Valerie Jarrett Valerie B. Jarrett (2011)
(bio and video here)
Michele Norris Michele Norris
(bio and video here)
Gwen Ifill Gwen Ifill (2007)
(bio here)
Eleanor Holmes Norton Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (2006)
(bio and video here)
Donna Brazile Donna Brazile (2005)
(bio here)
Carol Moseley-Braun Ambassador Carol
Moseley Braun (2004)
(bio here)
Patricia Williams Professor Patricia Williams (spring 2002 and
 spring 2003)
(bio here)
Alexis Herman Former U.S. Secretary
of Labor Alexis Herman
(bio here)
Gertrude Fester The Honorable
Gertrude Fester (2001)
(bio here)
Shirley Chisholm Former Congresswoman Shirley Chisholm (2000)
(bio here)